Assessment in Action

I had recently completed a blog post about my experiences in my attendance at Math in Action.  I said that I really wanted to put some of the things I learned about there in action in my classroom.  I learned about this website called beta.socrative at a session called Formative Assessment in a Tech-Based World session at Math in Action.  If you would like to know more about this conference, you can review my blog post entitled Math in Action.  The site, beta.socrative, requires every student to have access to the internet.  They answer questions assigned by the teacher.  The teacher then can review the students’ answers and track how well they are doing.  The teacher can use this as a formative assessment to clear up any misconceptions a student or class could have by seeing if individuals get multiple questions wrong in a row.  The site is a very useful tool teachers use to formative assess students.  I have recently tried out this software in my placement’s classroom.  It was quite interesting and I feel the students had a lot of fun experiencing with it.

We were reviewing for the end of the chapter test when my teacher assisting partner offered the idea of one day we could introduce beta.socrative to our students.  So, I created a quiz for the students as part of our review game.  The chapter spanned circles, volume of various three-dimensional figures, areas, surface areas of three dimensional figures, and classifying three dimensional figures.  I did several true and false, short answers, and multiple choice questions as part of the setup.

At the beginning of the review day, my partner and I gave out cards to each of the students to put them in groups.  We did not have access to computers for every student.  We ended up having eight groups in total, so we only needed eight computers.  During our review game, we sent out one question at a time to all of the students.  We could track which group got the assigned question right and wrong.  If the students got an answer wrong, they did not get any points.  If they got it correct, we randomly pulled out a point total for all the groups and assigned them that total.  We displayed the scoreboard on the whiteboard.  After we assigned scores, in order to check if only one student was answering a question for the group, we randomly pulled a card.  The student with the corresponding pulled card would have to explain to the class their group’s thinking through the process.  We feel it is important for every student to be accountable and know why a certain answer is correct.  We fielded any questions and concerns to clear up any misconceptions students might have had.  We then sent out the next question to the students and repeated the process.  At the end of class, we totaled up the points and the ones with the most ended up winning the game.

The review game went very well with the students considering it was something entirely new to them.  It incorporated beta.socrative which I have really wanted to try out since learning about it at Math in Action.  The students had a lot of fun and it was something different they could do for reviewing for a test.  They also really enjoyed the competitive style game.  If I am every in a school in the  future where every student has access to computers, I would definitely incorporate beta.socrative more into my lessons.

Leave a Reply

